Tag Archives: Daft Punk


Disney, the next EDM king

Walt Disney Records is topping charts with their EDM album Dconstructed.

As part of Disney Music Groups goal to move beyond their animated phenomenon, they released Dconstructed, an EDM album of classic and contemporary Disney songs remixed by a swagger of EDM giants such as Daft Punk and Armin van Buuren.

What a perfect combination, the classic Disney tunes you grew up with, mixed with crazy beats and epic vibes by some of our favourite DJs!

The success of Dconstructed is highly due to the release of Frozen. The soundtrack is nearing it’s 13th week at number one on Billboard 200, selling 2.1 million copies, so far.

This is the first EDM collection from the Disney group, and I can’t wait for more!

All the mixes come with their own trippy video to match, which were released as a celebration of Disney’s achievement in breaking into the EDM category.

The album listing goes as follows:

1. “Circle of Life” (Mat Zo Remix) – Carmen Twillie & Lebo M. The Lion King
2. “Derezzed” (So Amazing Mix) Remixed by Avicii featuring Negin– Daft Punk TRON: Legacy
3. “Let It Go” (Armin Van Buuren Remix) – Idina Menzel Frozen
4. “Roar” (Yogi Remix) – Axwell & Sebastian Ingrosso Monsters University
5. “Partysaurus Overflow” – BT & Au5 Inspired by the Toy Story Short Partysaurus Rex
6. “UNKLE Reconstruction” (U.N.K.L.E.) – Michael Giacchino The Incredibles
7. “Fall” (Japanese Popstars Remix) – Daft Punk TRON: Legacy
8. “The Muppet Show Theme” (Shy Kidx Remix) – The Muppets The Muppets
9. “Hey Pluto!” (Stonebridge Remix)– Stonebridge Inspired by Original Mickey Mouse Cartoons
10. “Once Upon a Dream” (Trion Remix) – Bill Shirley & Mary Costa Sleeping Beauty
11. “Main Street Electrical Parade” (Extended Mix) – Shinichi Osawa Disneyland® Park
12. “You’ve Got a Friend in Me” (Alfred Montejano Hyper Remix) – Randy Newman Toy Story
13. “Baby Mine” (House Version) – KASKADE Dumbo
14. “Pineapple Princess” (Kinsey Moore Remix) – Annette Funicello Hawaiiannette

Check out my personal favourite: The Lion King

Source via: billboard  and magneticmag


Real or Fake? Daft Punk and Jay Z track ‘Computerize’ leaked

Daft Punk are at it again with their duets but instead they’ve replaced their ‘Happy’ vocalist, Pharell Williams, with the rap sensation, Jay Z for their latest track Computerize….or so it may seem.The recent leaked track has brought controversy to it’s authenticity, with many Daft Punk fans claiming it to be ‘fake’. There have been no reliable sources to confirm this as of yet, but, rumour has it that the track is a cast-off for the movie TRON: Legacy. For those who haven’t had a chance to hear it, all you need to do is press play below, listen intently and judge for yourself.

So, what do you guys reckon? Do you believe this is the real deal? Let us know in the comment section below!

Source via pedestrian.tv

Daft Punk Wins 5 Grammys

At he 56th annual Grammy awards, Daft Punk managed to secure 5 Grammy awards including album of the year with their fourth studio album “Random Access Memories.” It was a year with fierce competition with artists such as Kendrick Lamar and Lorde but the French electronic duo prevailed.

“Random Access Memories” was another great album from the duo that won them a long list of awards including; album and record of the year, best pop/group performance, best dance/electronica album and best engineered album. On the night they appeared typically disguised in their masks and performed an interesting version of “Get Lucky” which featured Pharrell Williams and Stevie Wonder.

Daft Punk Tops Dance Chart, Zedd Rises After GRAMMY Wins

Source: billboard


Daft Punk managed to get over 100 million plays of Get Lucky on Spotify, an online streaming service. In celebration, the Frenchies put together a playlist of 20 amazing tracks they like to spin. Check out some of their favourite tracks they like to spin during their free time.

  1. Good Times – Chic
  2. The Real Thing – Phoenix
  3. Tap Out – The Strokes
  4. Why (12”Vocal) – Carly Simon
  5. My Girls – Animal Collective
  6. Electric Feel – MGMT
  7. Tears – Giorgio Moroder
  8. Jasmine (demo)
  9. Chase – Giorgio Moroder, Harold Faltermeyer
  10. Knight Moves – Chilly Gonzales
  11. Hypnotize U – N.E.R.D
  12. He’s The Greatest Dancer – Sister Sledge
  13. Retrograde – James Blake
  14. Woods – Bon Iver
  15. I’m Coming Out – Diana Ross
  16. You Can Count On Me – Panda Bear
  17. Amazon – UR
  18. Main Title – Tami Driver – Bernard Herrmann
  19. Bugsy Malone – Paul Williams
  20. I want You Back – A Cappella – Jackson 5

Source: www.inthemix.com.au/news/56204/Listen_Daft_Punks_musthear_playlist

daft punk

Daft Punk set to perform at VMA

French duo Daft Punk cancelled Stephen Colbert performance due to contractual obligations to the MTV Video Music Awards taking place at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Aug 25.

The French electronic duo was supposed to perform “Get Lucky” on The Colbert Report as part of the host’s summer music festival, StePhest Colchella ‘013. But the duo cancelled last minute. Here’s what Colbert said “ We booked click and clack over here about a month ago. This network is owned by Viacom, which is also the owner of MTV. Apparently, Daft Punk are going to make a surprise appearance on the MTV Video Music Awards. Don’t tell anyone, because fun fact: no one told me until two hours ago”.

To read full story click the link below



Chic Touring Dates Revealed

Nile Rodgers and his 1970s Chic band have released that they will tour Australia throughout December indicating performances at iconic venues such as the Opera House.

Nile Rodgers experienced a re-invention of his career in early 2013 with his collaboration with dance duo ‘Daft Punk’ to release the track ‘Get Lucky’ using an unfinished unedited Chic track from the early 70s.

Tickets go on sale to the general public August 2nd.

Chic Touring Dates

Thursday, December 5 – Barrington Tops

Friday, December 6 – Riverwood Downs Subsonic Music Festival,

Friday, December 7 – Concert Hall @ Sydney Opera House

Sunday, December 8 – Melbourne

Thursday, December 12 – Brisbane,

Friday, December 13 – Perth

Saturday, December 14 – Meredith

Source: MaxTV