Tag Archives: 2014 nominees

2014 APRA Music Awards nominees are here!!!

The Australasian Performing Rights Association (APRA) has just announced its list of nominees for the 2014 APRA Music Awards, to be held at Brisbane City Hall on Monday June 23rd.

Artists going head to head for the prestigious peer voted APRA Song of the Year title are experimental rockers The Drones for A Moat You Can Stand InThe Preatures with the grooving Is This How You Feel, Birds of Tokyo for Lanterns, heartbreaker Matt Corby with Resolution and of course Vance Joy’s Riptide.

Many of this year’s nominees include APRA first timers, including The Preatures, The Drones,SheppardNicholas Wolfe and Nathaniel all scoring noms. EMD man of the hour Flume will also be slugging it out with his track Holdin On for Dance Work Of The Year, against genre heavyweights Empire of the Sun and The Presets.

The Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year category includes Vance Joy and fellow first-time APRA nominees Jagwar MaKylie SackleyLouis Schoorl and Hiatus Kaiyote. This Award recognises the high potential emerging talent of a writer or group of writers.

Two special awards decided by the APRA Board of Directors will be presented on the night, the Songwriter of the Year and the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music. FomerGo-Betweens drummer Lindy Morrison has been announced as the recipient for this year’s Ted Albert Award.

Check out all the nominees in the list below, which includes short clips of each of the nominated works. Television partner MAX will film the 2014 APRA awards, which will be broadcast exclusively on Wednesday 9th July at 8pm, with an encore presentation at 10pm on Sunday 13th July.

To se the full list a nominees go HERE

Via Source theaustralian.com.au